The Mambo GuildTHE MAMBO GUILD
HomeCoursesCommunityPricingInstructorsBlog
Log In
Start Now
Home/Blog/Mambo Guild vs Dance Dojo
Comparison

The Mambo Guild vs Dance Dojo: Which One Fits You

By Pavle Popovic · 2x European Salsa Champion · 9 min read

Updated Nov 5, 2026

The Short Answer

Dance Dojo teaches On1 and On2 in one program for a one-time $299 with lifetime access, backed by a large, established community. The Mambo Guild teaches On2 and, since 5 November 2026, On1 as separate footwork ladders (101, 201, 301 in each timing), a $39/month subscription after a 7-day trial, with thirteen progressive courses across footwork, partnerwork, body movement, musicality, Pachanga and Chachacha, organised as skill trees with XP, a skill radar, badge quests and a verbatim move glossary. Choose Dance Dojo for one payment for life and the biggest community. Choose the Guild for the widest structured syllabus in either timing, with a progression system.

Who is writing this

The Mambo Guild. That is a conflict of interest, so the ground rules: every Dance Dojo figure below is quoted from their public website as of 3 November 2026, every judgement is labelled as ours, and where Dance Dojo is the better choice for a type of dancer we say it plainly. Dance Dojo is a good school. This is about fit, not about a winner.

Side by side

The Mambo GuildDance Dojo
Timing taughtSalsa On2 (New York Style Mambo) and Salsa On1, each with its own three-course footwork ladder (101, 201, 301); partnerwork courses in On2, plus Partnerwork On1On1 and On2, linear salsa
Price modelSubscription: Pro $39/mo or $399/yr, Guild Master $59/mo or $599/yrOne-time: $299 salsa program, lifetime access
Trial or guarantee7-day free trial, cancel inside the appFree trial, 30-day money-back guarantee
Library1500+ classes: 13 courses, 19 choreographies, 6 toolkits, 4 audiobooks; a new release every week364 on-demand salsa lessons (plus a bachata program)
StructureThirteen progressive courses; a skill tree per course, modules in a recommended order; every step broken down into its techniques; XP, a skill radar, badge quests, a weekly practice ringSix progressive modules: partner work, lead and follow, turns, shines, body movement, musicality
Other stylesPachanga, Chachacha & Boogaloo, body movement, musicality, Afro-Cuban steps, history and training science; the Rhythm Teacher (the band, one instrument at a time)Bachata (separate program or bundle)
Written materialSummary notes per module, a 300+-term glossary quoted verbatim from lessons, long-form guidesAround 36 free public guides, a glossary of terms
Lesson playerNamed sections, A/B loop, five speeds, frame-by-frame, mirrored front and back view, camera mode, glossary terms, in-lesson conciergeVideo lessons; player features not stated on the program page
Captions16 languagesNot stated on the program page
Live or personalGuild Master (for now): 2+ live calls a month, two 1-on-1 video feedbacks a monthNot stated on the program page
CommunityIn-app: the Stage (progress videos with coaching), the Lab (technique Q&A), training crews, weekly and monthly challenges, leaderboardsSite quotes 17,000+ dancers and 4.95/5 from 3,000+ students
Founded2025, public launch April 2026Established, long track record
InstructorsPavle Popovic (2x European champion) and guest facultyPatrick and Scarlet

The timing question, now that both teach both

This used to decide most of it. Until November 2026 the Guild taught only On2, so a dancer who wanted On1 had one obvious choice. Today both schools teach both timings, in different ways. Dance Dojo teaches them inside one program, which is a genuine advantage if you are undecided: you learn the shared vocabulary and settle on a timing as you go. The Guild teaches them as two separate footwork ladders, Salsa On1 101 to 301 and the On2 ladder, each with shines, timing drills and musicality built for that timing, and you pick yours on day one. Its partnerwork courses are taught On2. If you are undecided, Salsa On1 vs Salsa On2 is the honest guide, and it does not push you toward either.

Price: one payment versus a subscription

Dance Dojo's $299 is one payment for life (on 3 November their site showed it as a Black Friday price, $50 off). The Guild's Pro tier is $39 a month. At that rate the two cost the same after about eight months, and Dance Dojo is cheaper for anyone who will use the material for years. A subscription earns its keep only if new material keeps arriving and the structure keeps you practising, which is the bet the Guild makes: new choreographies and courses ship regularly, and the skill tree exists to make stopping harder than continuing. If you know you will study for two years and want to pay once, Dance Dojo wins on price. If you want to try for a week, for free, and stop when you are done, the Guild is the lower-risk door.

Structure: a program versus a skill tree

Both are structured, and both are a long way from the "scroll a library of clips" model. Dance Dojo's program is six modules that build progressively, and their public guides make a strong case for learning in order. The Guild goes further in one direction: each course is a visual skill tree that lays the modules out in a recommended order (any module opens, the tree shows what comes next), each module has a written summary and a quiz, every move has a glossary entry quoted from those notes, and the whole thing runs on XP and levels. That is a different philosophy, borrowed from game design and learning-experience design, and it is not for everyone. Some dancers find it motivating; some find it unnecessary. If you are the kind of person who finishes courses on your own, you do not need it. If you are the kind who has three half-finished dance courses, you might.

The other structural difference is written material inside the curriculum. Dance Dojo's writing lives in its free public guides, which are excellent. The Guild's writing lives inside the courses: summary notes for every module, quizzes, and a glossary whose definitions are taken word for word from those notes rather than written separately.

Community and track record

This is where Dance Dojo is clearly ahead, and it would be dishonest to pretend otherwise. Their site quotes 17,000+ dancers and a 4.95/5 rating from more than 3,000 students, and years of forum and Reddit threads back that up. The Guild launched publicly in April 2026; its member community is real and active, but it is a fraction of the size, and its review base (17 Trustpilot reviews, rated 5 stars, at the time of writing) is small. If a large community and a long record are what give you confidence, Dance Dojo is the safer choice today.

Who should choose which

  • Choose Dance Dojo if: you prefer one payment for life, you want the biggest community, you want On1 and On2 taught together in one program, or you also want bachata.
  • Choose The Mambo Guild if: you want a full footwork ladder in your timing, On2 or On1, the widest sequenced syllabus with a progression system, you train mostly alone, you want written definitions of every move, or you want captions in a language other than English.
  • Choose either if: you want to learn linear salsa properly online. Both are serious schools, and both offer a free way to find out in a week.

The wider field, including On2-only schools with live classes, is compared in Best online Salsa On2 courses.

Frequently asked questions

Is The Mambo Guild better than Dance Dojo?

Neither is better in general. Dance Dojo teaches On1 and On2 in one program for a one-time $299 with lifetime access and has a much larger community. The Mambo Guild teaches On2 and On1 as separate three-course ladders, $39 a month after a free trial, with thirteen progressive courses, skill-tree progression and a verbatim move glossary. The right one depends on how you like to pay and learn.

Does Dance Dojo teach Salsa On2?

Yes. Dance Dojo's salsa program covers linear salsa in both On1 and On2 timing. The Mambo Guild teaches both too, as two separate footwork ladders: Salsa On1 101, 201 and 301 since 5 November 2026, next to its On2 courses.

Which is cheaper, Dance Dojo or The Mambo Guild?

Over the first eight months they cost about the same ($299 one-time versus $39 a month). Beyond that Dance Dojo is cheaper because it is a one-time payment. The Mambo Guild has a 7-day free trial, so the first week costs nothing if you cancel before it ends.

Can I try both for free?

Yes. Dance Dojo offers a free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee on the paid program. The Mambo Guild offers a 7-day free trial on Pro, and you cancel inside the app.

Is this comparison independent?

No. It is written by The Mambo Guild. Every Dance Dojo figure is quoted from their public website on 3 November 2026, and the areas where Dance Dojo is the stronger choice (both timings, one-time price, community size) are stated as such.

Start your On2 path

See the skill tree for yourself, free for seven days.

1500+ lessons, visual Skill Tree, weekly new drops. Taught by a 2x European Champion. 7-day free trial, cancel in two clicks.

Start 7-day free trial

Defined in the glossary

  • Timing (Tiempo)
  • Cross-Body Lead
  • Suzy Q
  • Body Movement
  • Mambo

Keep reading

  • →Best Online Salsa On2 Courses in 2026: An Honest Comparison, Including Ours
  • →Salsa On1 vs Salsa On2: Which Should You Learn First?
  • →What members say about learning Salsa On2 at The Mambo Guild
The Mambo GuildTHE MAMBO GUILD

The world's first structured salsa academy. We use proven methods to make you a better dancer, faster.

Learn

  • Courses
  • Pricing
  • Instructor
  • Reviews
  • Community
  • Blog

Connect

  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Contact Support

Legal

  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Service
  • Cookie Policy
  • Refund Policy
  • Legal Notice

© 2026 The Mambo Guild. Keep dancing.

Pavle Popovic · P.IVA IT18528951009 · Via Pasquale Revoltella 92, 00152 Roma (RM), Italy